Freudenberg is a town lying on a holiday road called the Orange Route, joining the areas associated with the House of Orange in North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany. The town reached its current status in 1969, following the municipal reform. According to a document bestowing the town with its rights in 1465, Freudenberg was established as a flecken, meaning market town. Nevertheless, it has been known as a court seat since the early 15th century. Today, the town is famous for its half-timbered houses in the historical town center called Alter Flecken. Later, a 16th-century church was built as a fortified church. However, only the bell tower of the former castle could survive until today.
Comprising a unique ensemble of 86 half-timbered black and white houses, Freudenberg Town is recognized as a “Building monument of international importance”.
The black and white timber-framed houses rank as landmarks in the country because there is no other with such design. A total of 86 half-timbered houses line up in rows, separated by cobblestone pavements. The construction of these houses took place in the 17th century after a great fire burned the town into ashes. As a result, the town has become a rather picturesque tourist attraction sight today.